top of page

157th Homecoming Anniversary Group

Public·41 members
Martin Novikov
Martin Novikov


Ranginui first married Poharua Te Po where they bore 3 offspring including Aorangi (or Aoraki as given in South Island).[3] He later married Papatūānuku together becoming the primordial sky father and earth mother bearing over 70 children including Tāwhirimātea, Tāne and Tangaroa, all of whom are male. Both Ranginui and Papatūānuku lie locked together in a tight embrace, and their sons forced to live in the cramped darkness between them.[3][4][5]



Rangi's first wife was Poko-harua-te-pō, whose elder brother was Tangaroa. By her, Rangi begat Tāwhiri-mā-tea, and several powerful but little-known children. His second wife was Hekeheke-i-papa, by her he begat Tama-i-waho and several others who were spirits and remained in the heavens; also Tama-nui-a-rangi, who came to the earth. Next Rangi took Hotu-papa, by whom were brought forth Tū, the god of war, and many others. By Ma-uku-uku and by Tau-whare-kiokio he had progeny of small importance, but by his last wife, Papa-tū-a-nuku, he begat Rehua, Tāne, Rongo, Tū, Rongo-mai, Rua-tapu, Paikea, etc. Papa-tū-a-nuku was properly the wife of Tangaroa, but Rangi and Tangaroa fought for the possession of the female, and on Tangaroa thrusting Rangi through the thighs with his spear and being held victorious, he handed his erring wife over to Rangi.2

Another version relates that Rangi's first wife was Hine-ahu-papa, his second Papa-tu-a-nuku, and his third Papa. Te Mangu's union with Mahorahora-nui-a-Rangi brought forth four children, the Props of Heaven, viz.: Toko-mua, Toko-roto, Toko-pā, and Rangi-pōtiki (see Toko). From Rangi-pōtiki's wife, Hine-ahu-papa, descended Tū-nuku, Tū-rangi, Tama-i-koropao, and Haronga. Haronga took Tongo-tongo to wife, and begat Rā, the Sun, and Marama, the Moon.4 Rangi (as Rangi-nui-e-Tū) by Te-atu-tahi, begat the Moon, and by Wero-wero, the Sun.5

Rangi as Heaven, less in the sense of a person and more as a locality, is supposed to contain ten divisions or spaces, in opposition to Papa, who contains ten hell-spaces or divisions downwards to the netherworld. The first division of Rangi is called Kiko-rangi, the home of Tāwhiri-mā-tea; the second is, the heaven of rain and sunshine; the third, Ngā-roto, the heaven of lakes; the spray splashing over is the rain of the lower world. Herein reigns Maru. The fourth heaven is the Hau-ora or Te Wai-ora-a-Tāne, the "Living water of Tāne," from this circle the soul of man comes when a child is born. The fifth division is Ngā-tauira, the abode of those who attend the inferior gods who officiate in Naherangi; the sixth, Ngā-atua, the home of the inferior gods, and the dwelling-place of Tāwhaki; the seventh is Autōia, where the soul of man is created, and where spirits of mortals begin to live; the eighth is Aukumea, where time is allowed for spirits to live; the ninth is Wairua, therein dwell the spirit gods who attend on the deities in Naherangi; the tenth or highest heaven is Naherangi or Tūwharea, the Great Temple, where the supreme divinities reside, the heaven of Rehua. Of these heavens, Maru is god of the lower three, Tāwhaki of the next higher three, and Rehua of the upper four.6 041b061a72


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...


bottom of page